Revamping Last Nights Dinner – Delicious Vegan Rice Balls !

This is probably my favourite thing I’ve made as a Vegan. Last night I made vegetable paella and it was really nice and I enjoyed it very much, but being the only Vegan in my household a lot of the things I make are just for me because no one else will eat it. I made enough paella for about 4-6 people and it was going to go to waste because let’s face it, there’s only so much rice a girl can take … if I was to eat it all myself it would take like 2 days or something

IMG_2033  My leftovers.

So instead of letting all that food go to waste, I revamped it into delicious little balls that even my family would eat. I see food wastage on the news and on T.V programmes all the time, it’s a real problem that’s costing many households a lot of money each year. So doing something like this is the perfect way to recycle food instead of chucking it away.

IMG_2044

For example, you could use up all your leftover vegetables that are going off soon in the rice, recycle the rice into balls,using old bread as a coating . Its pretty cost-effective this way and a great way of reducing food wastage.

To see the recipe for the paella I made Click Here

Turning leftover paella into rice balls is pretty easy;

What you will need:

  • Left over paella (or any rice dish)
  • plain flour
  • garlic granules
  • salt
  • smoked paprika
  • water or vegan milk substitute (almond or soy milk for example)
  • Fresh breadcrumbs (It’s best to use stale bread) I made mine chunky for a nice texture but you could always make them fine if you prefer.
  • Vegetable oil of your choice

Method:

  • Take your rice and add in about 1 tbsp at a time until you get a gloopy mixture that holds together well. The amount you’ll need depends on how much rice you have. If you have a lot then I would suggest doing little bits at a time .

IMG_2046

  • Add garlic, salt and paprika into the flour for added taste.
  • Roll/shape rice into a generous sized balls and roll in flour

IMG_2034IMG_2035IMG_2036

  • Next dip the ball into water/milk until all the flour has been coated .

IMG_2037

  • Dip into breadcrumbs and press crumbs firmly onto the ball to make them stick well.

IMG_2038IMG_2036

  • Replace any ingredients if they start to run out. I can’t give exact amounts because it varies depending on how much rice you have.
  • Repeat process until you have used all of your rice.
  • Heat enough oil in a wok to cover half of the balls. To test if it is hot enough, put a small amount of mixture in the oil and if it sizzles quite rapidly it’s ready.

IMG_2041

  • Fry no more than 3 balls at a time turning frequently, they shouldn’t take any longer than 5 mins to cook if they are a similar size to the ones I made.They are ready when all sides are dark brown and crisp
  • Lay over kitchen roll and dab off any excess oil .
  • Enjoy!

IMG_2042  Out of focus sorry 😦

They are so quick and easy to make, they taste amazing and they are very versatile you can use any vegetable in the rice that you have lying around.

I think these would be great as a snack in a lunchbox or on a picnic, these are great finger food so you could even have them as party food. These are also great as a meal, serve with dressed mixed leaf salad and it will make a very tasty light lunch.

IMG_2045

I really hope you like this I know I did ! Hopefully I’ve given you guys some ideas on how to recycle your old food .

Hope you enjoyed the post and thank you for reading .

See you again soon x

Leave a comment