Testing Vegan Recipes- Chocolate Brownies!

Hello everyone and Merry Christmas!

I hope you all had a lovely holiday!

I was intending on posting this on Christmas Eve but I just didn’t have time as I was so busy. I literally feel like I haven’t stopped for the past 2 weeks so I’m really enjoying my holidays!

IMG_0164

So for my christmas dessert I made chocolate brownies.I know they look more like muffins, but I wanted to make them into individual portions for the sake of presentation.

I sourced the recipe from the BBC website, so if you would like to go over and check the original recipe then Click Here.

IMG_0150

As always, I made some changes to the recipe.

  1. I added more cocoa powder because it didn’t look chocolatey enough with the amount suggested in the recipe.
  2.  I used almond milk instead of soy.
  3. I replaced 20g of caster sugar with 20g of soft light brown sugar.
  4. I added 100g of chocolate chips.

Ingredients 

  • 170g/6oz self-raising flour

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 2-4 tbsp cocoa powder (depending on how chocolatey you like brownies)

  • 150g/5.3oz caster sugar

  • 20g/0.7oz soft light brown sugar
  • 5 tbsp sunflower oil

  • 230ml/8fl oz sweetened almond milk

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

  • 100g/3.5oz dairy-free dark chocolate chips. (optional)

 

Method 

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4.
  2. Line a 12 muffin tray with muffin cases (for individual portions) or grease and flour a 20cm/8″ cake tin.
  3. In a bowl sift together the flour, salt, cocoa powder and sugars.

IMG_0151

4. Add the oil, almond milk and vanilla extract, and mix carefully         together until completely mixed.

5. Add about 75g of the chocolate chips into the mix and combine.

IMG_0157

6. Put about 2 tbsp of mixture into each muffin case until all the mixture has been used then top each with the remaining chocolate chips.

IMG_0162

7. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the brownies spring back when gently pressed.IMG_0163

8.Leave to cool for five minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

Tip 

Re-heat the brownies in the microwave for 30 seconds or so to make them nice and warm. Top with some vegan ice cream for a delicious chocolatey dessert.

IMG_0166

These brownies are super soft and spongy.They are pretty chocolatey but not too rich. The chocolate chips are a great addition for a little added texture, and melt when the brownies are heated up for added yummyness.

IMG_0167

For a more traditional brownie you could add some chopped nuts as well as/ instead of the chocolate chips.

These were a real treat to have for my christmas pudding, my brother and sister (who aren’t vegan) were particular fans of them and enjoyed them warmed up with a cup of tea.

IMG_0166

Why not give this recipe a try and tell me what you think in the comments?

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you next time !

Amber

x

 

2 thoughts on “Testing Vegan Recipes- Chocolate Brownies!

Leave a Reply

