Testing Vegan Recipes : Chocolate Mocha Cupcakes!

So today I thought to myself, I haven’t baked in sooo long like literally a month (I think it’s because I’m vegan now ), and that is so unusual for me because I used to bake all the time. So I had a look online for some Vegan dessert recipes and I found one on the Vegan Society called Mocha Chocolate Cake. I like chocolate and coffee together and I had most of the ingredients required in the house, so I decided gave it a go. I made some adjustments here and there because there were some things in the recipe that I didn’t have at home.

Originally I was going to do this post like most recipe blogs, give you the recipe and method, then tell you how good it tastes, but after tasting the cupcakes I wasn’t completely happy with how they turned out and I know now what I would do differently. So I changed the title to testing Vegan recipes , so that when you go to make them, you’ll hopefully get better results 🙂

IMG_1925

To see the original recipe Click Here

Adjustments I made to the cake recipe :

  1. I used white self-raising flour (It was all I had)
  2. I didn’t add soy flour (I didn’t have any)
  3. I used golden granulated sugar instead of caster sugar
  4. I made the recipe into cupcakes instead of one big cake.

Adjustments I made to the Filling recipe :

  1. I used 80g of Vegan margarine and 160g icing sugar.
  2. I used coffee from a Tassimo pod (I was all the coffee I had but it actually worked quite well )

IMG_1919  I cut open this tassimo pod and added the coffee into the icing ! 😀

I also didn’t use the topping suggested in the recipe .

So here is my version of the recipe .

Ingredients :

Cake:

  • 8 oz / 225g self-raising flour
  • 6 level tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 level tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 level tsp cream of tartar
  • 7 oz / 200g golden granulated sugar
  • 9 fl oz / 250 ml water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Icing:

  • oz / 80g vegan margarine
  •  oz / 160g icing sugar
  • very strong coffee to taste
  • Few drops of vanilla extract

Crushed hazelnuts to decorate

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200C/400F/gas mark 6.
  2. Sift flour into a basin with the cocoa powder, bicarbonate of soda, cream of tartar and sugar, and then mix together. Stir in the water.
  3. Line a 12 hole muffin tin / cupcake tray with muffin / cupcake cases and fill each one about 1/2 way – 3/4 of they way up . Bake in the pre-heated oven for about 20-25 minutes. Cool cupcakes on a wire cooling rake until completely cooled.

IMG_1914IMG_1913

4.Make the filling: cream the margarine with half the sugar, then add remainder and cream again. Stir in strong coffee      gradually to required consistency. When smooth add a few drops of vanilla essence.

IMG_1916IMG_1917IMG_1918

5. When cakes are cooled spread an even amount of icing over each cake using a palette knife

IMG_1920    IMG_1926

6.Top each cake with a sprinkle of crushed hazelnuts for added texture for and a little added decoration.

These cupcakes were really quick and easy to make. I really liked the combination of chocolate and coffee and the golden granulated sugar also added a subtle caramel flavour which was really nice.Personally I think they would be better if they were more chocolatey however I didn’t add the chocolate sauce suggested in the recipe so maybe that’s why mine were slightly lacking in chocolate flavour.

If I was to make these again I would make further changes:

  1. I would add in some more chocolate in the cake
  2. I would use a vegan milk alternative instead of water (such as hazelnut, soya or almond milk) I think it would give the cakes a nicer taste and texture.
  3. I would use the soy flour as suggested in the original recipe , as it would give the cake added moisture
  4. I would maybe make a chocolate cupcake filling and inject it into the centre for added moisture and chocolateness.

Overall I think this is a pretty good recipe, i would definitely change it a little bit more as ive said above. Even though they weren’t perfect this time round, I still enjoyed them. :p

IMG_1927

I hope you found this helpful! If you have any suggestions or thoughts on this blog post then please let me know in the comments I would love to hear from you guys.

Thank you for reading !

See you again soon x

4 thoughts on “Testing Vegan Recipes : Chocolate Mocha Cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: Testing Vegan Recipes – Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. | Ambelle~Blog

Leave a Reply

