Testing Vegan Recipes – Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.

After posting testing vegan recipes – chocolate mocha cupcakes,I got a quite a lot of likes

and comments (compared to my other posts) which tells me that you guys enjoyed it, so I thought that I would do this type of post more often and make it like a series or something ? I’m not entirely sure but I think I’ll be doing more of these posts!

Anyway back to this .

I recently tried this amazing recipe from  http://www.atiliay.com called The Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever!  And they were pretty damn good ! I made a few changes – as  I always seem to do for some reason – I wouldn’t say they were necessary but I did anyway.

I wasn’t able to get photos of making the cookie dough as my phone died at the time sorry guys !

To see the original recipe Click Here

Changes I made :

  • I used almond milk instead of soy
  • I used 400g of choc chips instead of 350g (12oz)
  • I used regular vegan margarine instead of soy

This is my version :

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla or vanilla paste
  • 400g (14 oz) dairy-free dark chocolate chips.
  • 1 cup of vegan margarine
  • 1/2 cup soft light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 2 1/4 plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Method:

  • With a hand mixer, blend together the vegan margarine and both types of sugar.  Once blended, add the almond milk and vanilla.  Mix well; the mixture should be a creamy consistency.
  • Add the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt to the butter mixture, mix with a hand mixer.  Then fold in the chocolate chips.

IMG_2020

  • Roll small balls of dough in the palm of your hands pressing down to create thick disk shape.

IMG_2021IMG_2022IMG_2023   Scoop of dough, roll into a ball and press into a thick disk .

  • Lay them onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet, be sure not to place them too close together, they will spread slightly.When putting multiple things on one tray it’s best to align them in a zigzag pattern as heatwave move in a zig-zag in the oven , so this makes for a more even bake.

IMG_2024

  • Bake at 350F(Gas mark 4) for about 10-15 minutes (if you make them larger like I did, if not then 8-10 minutes) or until edges are brown.  If you like chewy cookies, take them out of the oven right as the edges turn light brown.

IMG_2029  All done !  This batch of cookies took 17 minutes .

These cookies are amazing ! Even my non- vegan family said they were the best cookies the had ever tried ! I wouldn’t do anything differently if I was to make them again, they were pretty perfect if I do say so myself 😀

IMG_2031   A little plaque ornament my friend bought me !

In the original recipe it seem like the cookies spread a lot, because they start off as little balls and the final picture they are big, but mine didn’t spread that much. I have no idea why, maybe the different milk or the margarine or something ? If anyone knows why then please let me know thanks !

IMG_2025IMG_2030

They are soft chewy slightly crisp at the edges and super dooper chocolatey ! I enjoyed mine with some almond milk and the were very delicious .I think they would be nice with some nuts in them like hazelnuts or maybe even pistachios.

IMG_2026

These would also make a great gift for your loved ones !

IMG_2028

I hope you enjoyed this post and I hope you try the recipe . If you do let me know in the comments what you think and if there is anything you would do differently , I always love hearing from you all.

See you again soon ! x

2 thoughts on “Testing Vegan Recipes – Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Leave a Reply

